- Earn credit toward a college certificate, degree, or transfer to any California State University (CSU)
- Your job site is your classroom - no transportation needed to get to class
- Explore career paths of interest
- Develop the 21st century job skills that employers seek: communication, customer service, professionalism/work ethic, time management, motivation/initiative, flexibility/adaptability, leadership, interpersonal skills, teamwork, technology
- What you need to know
HIGH SCHOOL - WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW
- This is a self-directed course. You will be assigned an instructor who will answer your questions and support your success, but it is up to you to fulfill the course requirements without prompting.
- Students' privacy is protected by FERPA Guidelines. Instructors and support staff are not permitted to answer inquiries from a student's parents.
- It is your responsibility to pay attention to course deadlines (outlined in the course handbook) as well as Admissions & Records deadlines (outlined in the Academic Calendar).
- This is a graded course. The grade you get in this course will become part of your college record.
- Course Requirements
HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS - COURSE REQUIREMENTS
- You must have a paid job with a properly licensed business
- Complete an application to enroll at SRJC
- Complete a Concurrent Enrollment Form
- Enroll in a Work Experience course through your student portal
- Submit the Employment Information Form “EIF”
- Purchase a course handbook from the SRJC Bookstore at the Santa Rosa or Petaluma campus
- Develop 4 on-the-job learning objectives with your supervisor that focus on new job-related knowledge or skills
- Meet with your assigned Work Experience instructor and job supervisor twice during the semester at the job site
- Write a 3-page report about your experience in the course
- Complete 4 hours of work-related seminars or activities (offered online or in person)
- Track your work hours during the semester
- Work Permit Laws
WORK PERMIT LAWS
WORK PERMIT LAWS
Excerpts taken from the State of California Child Labor Laws:
High school graduates or minors who have been awarded a certificate of proficiency are exempt from the permit requirements. [EC 49101; LC 1286]
A minor enrolled in a Work Experience Education program must obtain a work permit, and his or her employer must possess a permit to employ. The minor must be at least 16 years of age to be enrolled in a Work Experience Education program, with certain exceptions as specified in the Education Code. [EC 49113]
Obtaining Permits to Employ and Work
Prior to permitting the minor to work, employers must possess a valid Permit to Employ and Work. The minor’s school issues the permit. In typical circumstances, after an employer agrees to hire a minor, the minor then obtains from his or her school a brief form with the title “Statement of Intent to Employ Minor and Request for Work Permit” (“Application”). [EC 49162] The application is completed by the minor and the employer, and signed by the minor’s parent or guardian and the prospective supervisor. [EC 49163] After returning the completed and signed application to the school, school officials may then issue the Permit to Employ and Work. [EC 49110 – 49113 and 49130]
Minors Who Attend a Charter School
A minor attending a charter school* who wishes to work, must obtain the standard Permit to Employ and Work, and the employer must possess such permit. Either the minor’s school or the authority that granted the school’s charter (normally the local school district) may issue the permit.
Work Hour Exceptions for Sixteen and Seventeen Year Olds
Sixteen and seventeen year olds enrolled in Work Experience or cooperative vocational education programs approved by the California Department of Education or those conducted by private schools may work on any day after 10 p.m., but not later than 12:30 a.m., provided that the parent or guardian and the Work Experience Education coordinator approve. Such employment may not be detrimental to the health, education, or welfare of the minor. Minors in these programs who work between the hours of 10 p.m. and 12:30 a.m. must be paid at least the adult minimum wage for those hours. [LC 1391.1] As the chart indicates, 16 and 17 year olds enrolled in a school approved Work Experience or cooperative vocational education program may work more than 4 hours on a school day, but never more than eight hours in any day. [EC 49116, LC 1391 and 1392]